Learning to drive as an adult, as opposed to when you were a teen, is easier than you might think. As an adult, the officials at the DMV believe that by the time you’ve turned 18, you have a much better grasp on the rules of the road and are more aware of the various road-responsibilities that having a driver’s license entail. Because of this, the requirements and restrictions that are required of new drivers are often reduced. However, before you head down to the DMV, you have to enroll and complete an adult driver’s education class, before applying for a license, according to the site dmv.org.
Why Take Adult Driver’s Education?
Texas residents between the ages of 18 and 24 years old are required to take an adult driver’s education course in order to obtain their driver’s license. During the course, participants learn the same lessons that teens learn in their traditional driver’s education course. Some of the topics that are covered include:
- Texas traffic laws
- Road signs
- Defensive driving
- Hazard prevention techniques
- Fundamentals of responsible and safe driving
- Consequences and penalties for serious offenses
To get a better idea of what will be covered during the duration of the course, you can read through the Texas Driver Handbook.
Adult Driver’s Education Requirements
In Texas, adult driver’s education course consists of six hours of instruction. These classes can be done in a traditional classroom setting, or online. Unlike getting your license as a teen, you aren’t required to complete any behind-the-wheel training. While you have the option of taking the course through a traditional classroom setting, the online environment is extremely convenient because you can complete the course anytime and at any location. Not only are online classes convenient, but many of the online courses final exams double as the written exam that you would have to take at the DMV. This means that once you pass the final exam in your class, you’ve also passed the DMV written exam.
Impact Texas Young Driver Program Requirements
Along with taking an adult driver’s education course, you will be required to complete the Impact Texas Young Driver program. The program was developed with the goal of saving lives through awareness and education, according to the Texas Department of Public Safety website. The program is a free, one-hour video that details the dangers of distracted driving. Your certificate of completion will be mailed to you by the Department of Public Safety after you’ve watched the video. Once you’ve received the certification, you have 90 days to submit it to the DMV.
Failing the Adult Driver’s Education Course
When you opt to take the online course, you typically can’t fail it, unless you chose not to complete it. Many of the online courses will allow you to retake each chapter of the course as many times as it takes to pass.
Once you’ve completed your class, you can head to the DMV to apply for your license. All you need to do is bring your certificate of completion, all documents that are required by the DMV and your payment.
Latest posts by Girl on Fire (see all)
- How to Make Sure Your Aging Parents Get the Care They Need - December 14, 2018
- Don’t Want To Spend The Holidays With A Runny Nose? Fix The Things That Are Making You Sick! - December 13, 2018
- Is Your Home Ready For The Christmas Holidays? - December 10, 2018